The UCT Foundation (1993 -  2010)

The UCT Foundation (1993-2010) was constituted as a Canadian charitable foundation in 1993 with the aim of raising funds in Canada for student bursaries and activities at the University of Cape Town, South Africa. The Foundation also facilitated the University of Cape Town’s relationship with its alumni in Canada.

The UCT Foundation acted as an independent Canadian charitable organization, with its own Board of Directors. All members of the Board of Directors were UCT alumni/alumnae. They were: Mr Henry Blumberg (Chairman), Mr Les Kottler (President), Mr David Groll (Treasurer), Prof. Marcia Blumberg, Mr Stephen Jennings, Dr Richard Cohen, Ms Karen Eaton, Dr Stanley Jonathon, and Dr Vivian Rakoff.

On a regular basis the University of Cape Town Foundation made awards to University of Cape Town initiatives and student bursaries. The Board exercised discretion in its decisions about awards, but was attentive to the needs of the University, and to the stated requests of Foundation donors.

The University of Cape Town, South Africa, is also a ‘prescribed university’ under Section 118.1 of the Canadian Income Tax Act (Schedule VIII, item No. 19). As a qualified donee, donations made directly to the University of Cape Town are eligible for Canadian tax credits. In line with this status, as of 1 January 2011 the University of Cape Town, Regional Office: Canada will be in a position to receive donations directly to UCT.

As of 1 January 2011 the UCT Foundation will no longer accept donations. They can be channeled through the UCT Canada office directly.

Contact Di Stafford, Regional Director: Development & Alumni Relations for more information.

Newsletter Signup

Receive the latest news and announcements from the UCT Regional Office: Canada.

Latest Newsletter: Spring 2019

Join the UCT Alumni in CANADA Group

Website donated by Blumberg Segal LLP. Site developed by The Wire Inc.